The World And Exploring It

Even though this is only my second blog post, I’ve already mentioned this twice, but it’s worth mentioning for a third time. I find that building connections all over the world is very important with experiencing the different views of the world and understanding culture.

I know most people that travel (and travel smartly), will tell you that travelling is quite addicting. Once you start seeing and experiencing things you never laid your eyes on or felt before, its something you want to continue to do. Even though my travels have barely taken me out of North America, I can understand this concept and I feel that having the ability to travel is an opportunity that shouldn’t be wasted. In fact, a significant number of people from Canada and the United States have never left their province or state, let alone their country.

That all seems extremely robotic and systematic to me.

When I look to travel, I don’t actually look into the travel packages too much. A lot of them cover a lot of ground and show a person many many things in their destination. The problem I have with those is that they really rush you through places a lot of the time and its just non-stop. Especially the ones that cover many destinations or countries in something as short as a two week period. It basically goes that you get there, look around, take pictures and move on to the next attraction like a herd of cattle. For that, is why I think making worldwide connections is very important.

As a university student studying in Canada, I’m very lucky to have a vast diversity of cultures to interact with while going to school. It means I can make many friends and connections from all over the world. It’s these relationships that really help me to understand different cultures and create a foundation to travel to and with.

There’s also the internet for those that aren’t shy and confident with their ability to judge character and trust others. It’s such an easy way to connect with the earth, using the resources on the world wide web. It can be as simple as places like these (blogs), to start making the worldly connections and there are also places specialized for that, such as couch surfing. With that said though, you still have to be careful on the internet, even with fairly trustworthy methods like the official couch surfing site.

I guess the best way to end is to share the places I wish most to explore and start building connections into. So here they are:

Malaysia

Singapore

Peru

Santorini (Thira)

Czech Republic

 

“Life does not ask what we want. It presents us with options” – Thomas Sowell

Leave a Reply

