Online Dating and Long Distance Relationships

Online dating and long distance relationships are two things I have had the ability to explore within my dating life already. I think online dating can be a fairly useful tool to use for a few different reasons, if done right of course. But on the other hand, I believe that long distance relationships have a limit, and its a gamble as to where the limit ends.

When it comes to online dating, I think its a great way to get to know people and potential girlfriends/boyfriends initially. In my experience, the barrier of the whole thing really allows you to explore different people and almost effortlessly gain access to each others basic information, interests, and lifestyles. It’s a very efficient way to get your questions answered in a much faster and less awkward manner (for many cases), rather than having to go through it all on the first date. It also lets you assess whether the other patron is someone you think you would be compatible with and build that first connection before exploring each other in real life.

In my opinion, I think its a very effective tool since people are generally more brave to speak their mind and openly ask questions online rather than in real life. They tend to feel more free in letting others get to know them and asking questions themselves, probably since those people they are talking to are only entities at that point.

So in the whole, when its taken seriously, in a mature and professional manner, online dating can actually have many positive qualities. Even with that said, it is still a good idea to be a little careful of the people you meet online. Since there’s no emotions or faces associated with the people you interact with, it’s a lot easier for them to lie, over exaggerate and give the wrong impression, since everything is done over cyberspace. But in my experience, it seems pretty legitimate and I think its a very useful tool.

The other thing I wanted to talk about was long distance relationships. The reason I’m putting these together on the same post is because a lot of times online dating can result in or go hand-in-hand with a long distance relationship (or even the other way around).

I have been in a couple long distance relationships, some longer than others (in more ways than one too). But what I found was that they only work for so long and eventually somebody does get hurt because their partner grew tired of waiting. I don’t think a long distance relationship is something I could do anymore due to that. In the end I was the one that ended up getting hurt. I was dating a girl for two years when somewhere along the lines it turned into a long distance relationship. After a little bit, I guess she got bored or tired of missing me and decided to find herself a new boyfriend. She was the last person I loved too…

Anyhow, there’s really a limit as to how far a relationship can go over long distance. Once you hit that limit, things tend to slow down and a lot of times relationships burn out because of that.

So if your looking to ignite a flame, then I say give online dating a true effort and see what happens. As for me, I may be single at the moment, but I met a very promising girl. I’m really excited to see where this goes.

 

“One good thing about Internet dating: you’re guaranteed to click with whomever you meet” – Unknown

 

Tyson Trepidations.

Leave a Reply

