So Many Places To Choose From

My current living situation for the summer is back with my parents at my childhood house. It’s not bad neither, my parents are pretty down to earth and let me make my own decisions since I am 21 years old. Although, like many people my age, there is that nagging feeling in the back of my mind about just the fact that I’m living with my parents.

Having that said, I’ve been trying to decide what I want to do for the next school year in regards to my living arrangements. I have a few options that I’ve been looking into and starting this early makes all of them easily available. Also, I haven’t lived in too many different places, basically just at home and a dorm room. I’m actually not even sure what I want to get out of this post, I think its mostly for me to just get everything written down and compare the different choices I have. Also, other opinions are welcome and highly valued. I’d like to other experiences and tips to help me out in this decision that’s become really tough for me. 

I’ll start with what I know. A dorm room isn’t bad, they’re right on university and you don’t have to worry about any other added bills since it includes everything. Also, there are many different services and activities offered that really no other living arrangement can give out (like karaoke night, a quiet study room, free BBQ’s, etc). Not to mention all the discounts at the ski mountains, hockey games and bowling nights! Another good thing about the dorms is that you are organized into quads, so you have your own room with a kitchenette, but share the bathroom with 3 other boys, ensuring you keep your privacy fairly well. A lot of the time having quads gives you instant friends, but sometimes that can also be a burden. Now for the not so good things that constantly bother me about living there. I can’t stand the concrete walls, with only one little window and a tiny air vent. It makes me feel as though I’m in prison and I really miss out on any sunshine as well with the little window. The other thing is the size, they really are tiny and because of that, they can be a burden to keep clean. Since I’m a bit of a germaphobe, this doesn’t sit well with me…

Another option I have that’s kinda similar-ish is to respond to some of those “room mate wanted” ads. There really are a lot of them and some are even cheaper than living in the dorms, which is a huge plus to me. Also, the hopes of getting some sunshine and away from the bland concrete jungle! Like the dorms, it can be a good way to make new friends as well, but you never really know what will happen. The problems with this though is how clean the other people would be and if their lifestyles would fit well enough into mine to be good room mates. The last thing I really want is the added stress on top of a full course and work load. Although, I do have to say that I put a lot of faith into other people, and I think I’m pretty good at judging what makes a person responsible and trustworthy.

The next one that I can’t shake off neither is remaining at home. I know, I already complained about the feeling of living with the parents, but even so, there are still many pluses that come from it. I’ll start with those positive qualities first. The biggest one is the amount of money I would be saving, its free to live at home, my parents aren’t going to charge me anything while I’m going to school, earning an education and bright future. All the money saved would be great because it would allow me to finally travel some more and cross some of the places I need to explore off my bucket list. So if I do stay at home, its more like Singapore, here I come! The other positive that comes out of living with the parents is that I find I work a lot harder and study ten times more. I think its because my parents are around, just that thing from when you were a kid and your parents would get mad at you for not studying; the last thing I want to do is disappoint my parents! Oh, and I can’t forget my moms cooking on that list too… But there are other cons than just the nagging feeling I get. We actually live 65 km’s from the university so it is quite the trip through the mountains to get there, especially in the winter time. This can be very time consuming and exhausting some days. The other negative that comes out of it is the lack luster social life. Like I said, I live out of town, so its not the easiest to hang out with my friends and have a good time. Not only all that, but I can find my parents to be really annoying at the worst times and they don’t really understand that I don’t like to be disturbed while I’m working on homework or studying. So they can get very frustrating as well.

The last option I have weighing me down is an invite that my sister and her friend gave me. They want me to move in with them to a three bedroom apartment or suite since rent is a little cheaper being split 3 ways rather than just 2. So it would be cheaper than the dorm and cheaper than some of the room mate ads as well. The problems with this is that I don’t really have a relationship with my sisters friend. She’s really nice and all, but she talks way to much… It starts to bother me after a while with the amount that she talks. I’m not sure if its something she would do at home all the time or what, but if she did, it would drive me crazy. I know my sister and her friend are both are very clean though, so that’s a definite plus! Also, I know that I can trust them and they are very hard working students much like myself. The other con with this arrangement though, is it would be the most distracting from my studies even though we are all hard workers. For some reason, whenever I’m with my sister, nothing gets done! We are pretty close to each other and very close in age as well, so we really relate, and end up getting carried away a lot of the time. This leads to a lot of fun times and great memories, but I’m not sure if its the best for my GPA.

 

“We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths” – Walt Disney

 

Tyson Trepidations.

Leave a Reply

