A Songwriting Session: “(She is) My Dreams Work Of Art”

Music is a pretty big portion of my life. I do play the guitar and played the Saxophone; karaoke and DDR is one of my most favorite past times and I can usually be caught singing some sort of song for every occasion.

But songwriting is actually very new to me.

Sure, I have written a couple fun and goofy songs that make no sense (like the ROFL-Copter Song), but this time I decided to sit down and really do some thinking and real writing. I didn’t really expect everything to go perfect and smoothly; it really didn’t and actually seems a little short. But I came out with a product, so I thought I should share it and get some feedback; after all, other people’s critiques and opinions is a great way for me learn and improve. Who know’s, maybe when I get a little better with writing words into lyrics, I will add some guitar parts to go along with it.

When I started writing this, I decided to go for something from my own experience, I figured that would be the easiest thing to write about. So I decided to write one about love of course, since its so generic and you can usually add a lot of fluff when needed. It’s about basically when I had a long distance and loving relationship (before the bitch cheated on me). We talk every day and we are basically twins, we had so much in common. Plus when we talk, we are free to talk about literally everything and anything, which is a liberty I only share with people I’m close to in my life. Now don’t make the mistake in thinking I’m still hooked on her, I’m far from that. In fact sometimes wonder why I even dated her for so long. Maybe the next song will be how she cheated on me to solidify that.

But here it is, I’m calling it “(She is) My Dreams Work of Art”:

God infiltrated my dreams one night,
Stole the girl and put her in my life.
Everything about her fit so perfectly,
I knew he had made her just for me.
 
I never saw it comin’
We were just innocently talkin’
But when I finally saw her eyes,
I knew she was perfect; 
My angel in disguise.
 
Even though she’s so far away,
She makes me feel lucky everyday.
Even though we’re worlds apart,
I need to meet her, to stop this bleeding heart.
 
Oooohhhh I need to get her into my arms.
Oooohhhh She is my dreams work of art.
 
So tonight when she goes to sleep,
She can close her eyes and have the sweetest dreams.
Cuz not even this distance could keep us apart,
I knew I had to have her from the very start.
 
Then when she awakes the next day,
I’ll be gently waiting on her balcony.
But when I come I’ll be there to stay,
Where our love can dance the night away.
 
Oooohhhh I need to get her into my arms.
Oooohhhh She is my dreams work of art.
 
Even though she’s so far away,
She makes me feel lucky everyday.
Even though we’re worlds apart, 
I need to meet, to stop this bleeding heart.
 
Oooohhhh I need to get her into my arms.
Oooohhhh She is my dreams work of art.
She is my dreams work of art.

“Wouldn’t it be the perfect crime, if I stole your heart and you stole mine?” – Unknown

Tyson Trepidations.

One response to “A Songwriting Session: “(She is) My Dreams Work Of Art”

Leave a Reply

