The Body Speaks Louder Than Words

I am a  creep.

Yes its true, I’m one of those people that will watch and observe others in how they use their facial expressions and body language to tell their story.

I think its something I get from my mother to be honest, I used to catch her all the time watching people and commenting on how they were reacting to the situations before them. So I guess where most mothers tell their children not to stare because “its rude!”. My mother unconsciously taught me the opposite.

It’s actually a quality of myself that I don’t really mind. Sure, sometimes I get caught or make that really awkward eye contact while watching people, but I find that it makes me much better at being able to read into people I’m associated with due to their expressions and body posture. It really is almost something like on that show “Lie To Me”, where the main character, Dr. Cal Lightman, is able to tell (most of the time) when people are being truthful or when they are lying by the way they express themselves subconsciously.

With that said, I’ve been catching myself observing other people’s microexpressions on an increasing basis as I actually converse with them and share stories. I do hope though that I don’t look like one of those weirdoes that have this uncanny stare that leaves you with this eerie feeling and hate making eye contact with. But then that would explain why I usually attract a lot of odd and mentally unstable people.

Anyways.

Even though I’ve been getting pretty good at being able to read into people, when I get the hunch or notion that they are lying to me about what they are saying, I never actually call them out on it. I don’t think anyone would take it too lightly being called a liar with no real evidence or valid reasoning.

I don’t think that ability its limited to being able to tell if a person is lying neither. Sometimes that just seems like the most obvious gesture to pinpoint. A lot of the time I also take note of their other microexpressions as well.

For those that don’t know, a microexpression is a facial expression that is shown in response to emotions that the person feels about the subject matter, but only really last anywhere from 1/25 to 1/15 of a second. You can usually read into any emotion with microexpressions if your really seasoned at pinpointing those sort of things. But the ones I really happen to notice are the ones of excitement, grief, pleasure and guilt. Or so I believe.

To be fully honest, I have no real idea if I’m even reading into those expressions that I observe properly, but who knows, maybe I’m one of those real life “Truth Wizards”.

 

“Some people are afraid of what they might find if they try to analyze themselves too much, but you have to crawl into your wounds to discover where your fears are. Once the bleeding starts, the cleansing can begin” – Tori Amos

 

Tyson Trepidations

Leave a Reply

