Zombies, Dinosaurs, A Girl, and My Recurring Dream

Over the last week and a half I have been having this one dream that’s always quite similar but a little different every time. What I mean is that the setting and events stay the same for the most part, but there are small changes and detail shifting within each dream. I’ll share the overall synopsis though and see what everybody else thinks.

 

It all started out in a small (but not too small), yet quaint and tight knit coastal community. By the looks of it, it could have passed as a secluded part of Hawaii or somewhere similar in the world. It was the type of of place where everyone in town knows me, are incredibly nice and there’s always this amazing street market going on, kinda like the ones you’d imagine seeing in the middle east (but with a coastal twist added).

It always appears to be a beautiful, warm and sunny summer day, that I always spent hanging out at a zoo with some friends. Sometimes I dream that I’m with two friends and sometimes with three. But as dreams go, it really wasn’t an ordinary zoo since it was devoted to reincarnating and keeping dinosaurs (Jurassic Park much?). Everything started out innocently enough too, we were just walking around, looking at the different exhibits and were having a wonderful time with lots of fun.

Suddenly, things started to turn for the worst.

For some reason, one of the dinosaurs managed to get out. Of course though, it had to be the king of all carnivores, the Tyrannosaurus Rex. At the moment that had happened, it didn’t pose an immediate threat though. The dinosaur was distracted chasing some poor (and probably underpaid) zookeeper for breakfast. So ultimately, the group of us decided to run for our SUV and get out of the area before anything happened to us. Or God forbid anymore dinosaurs escape.

I remember though, in the Jurassic Park movies when there was a Tyrannosaurus Rex around, the main character always advised everyone not to run. That probably would have been good advise, had Dr. Alan Grant have been in my dream because once we started running, the Tyrannosaurus immediately became interested in us and started its pursuit.

Luckily, as it usually is in small, tight knit communities, the doors weren’t locked on the SUV and it actually started how it was supposed to (Not like any cheesy, straight to DVD, cheap horror flicks). Everything occurring after that though was just like that off of a movie real.

One of my friends was driving, but I was riding shotgun. The giant Tyrannosaurus was getting incredibly close, but my friend was smart enough to step on the gas as fast as he could and get us moving away from the dino-zoo. Once on the road, heading towards town, he floored it. It wasn’t fast enough though, it only seemed like we were going the exact same speed that the huge carnivore was able to run.

But once reaching town from the short distance of the zoo, we were hit with our first roadblock. Literally.

The one road heading into town was blocked off for the towns street market. So in an instant, my friend slammed on the brake and everybody bailed from the SUV as the Tyrannosaurus was gaining on us, and fast too. We started running straight into the crowded yelling at people to run and get out of the way. It was that moment when I realized something else wasn’t right, the entire market was in quite a peril itself and it wasn’t even for the dinosaur that was getting ever closer.

It was something else.

I chanced slowing down to be able to take a look around and observe what made the town into a frenzy, but what I saw didn’t make anything better.

Some of the people in the market clearly weren’t normal. I recognized the faces, but what they were doing was completely wrong as human beings. They were gnawing on other peoples arms, legs, necks, and any other body part they could get their hands on. Everyone was screaming, fighting, pushing and getting eaten alive, not only by the newly found zombies, but also by the Tyrannosaurus that had now caught up with us and having a hearty meal of the townfolk I grew up with.

Once I figured out what was wrong though, I immediately made the wise decision to continue moving before the dinosaur got any closer than it dangerously was and also before one of the zombies could cling onto me for a fresh meal. So I ran. As fast as I could, jumping over the dead bodies of those that were bitten, soon to be the living dead themselves. I was so focused on avoiding the zombies and running carelessly fast through the market that I couldn’t give any attention to anything else, and lost compass of where my friends went.

A scream then filled the air.

There were people shouting, swearing and screaming everywhere, but this one scream stood out. I didn’t know why, but it snapped me out of my zone and I looked to see where it was coming from. I knew it couldn’t be too far judging by the sound of it, but I just had to see who it came from.

The scream came again. This time more forceful and clearly showed this girls life was on the line.

Hearing it that time, allowed my ears to help me pinpoint where it came from and I saw her instantly. It was a girl, probably a little younger than myself, about to get sandwiched by two zombies slowly closing in on her. I don’t think I knew her, but I knew that I had to help her.

So I changed the direction of my full on gallop to be straight towards her. I remember that I was considering whether I should hit her, or one of the zombies. But I decided to go with hitting her. Since there were two zombies, it was possible that one could still get her and I also didn’t want to take the risk of getting bitten myself. So I hit her. Well… More like body slammed her in my ungracefulness. But we didn’t have time to check our bodies for injury, I got up instantly and pulled her to her feet. I grabbed her hand and we ran. We ran as fast as the wind.

We were coming up on our second roadblock now, running straight towards the sea. As we came up to the side rails of the road, towering above the water, I took a moment to weigh our options. I didn’t want to take us back into the market, there were too many zombies and not to mention that dinosaur looming in the distance. To the left and right up the road, there wasn’t too much of a choice neither, those roads seemed filled souvenir shops and seaside diners/restaurants, with tonnes of people, many already overcome with the zombie disease.

Still holding this mysterious girls hand, I led her straight ahead in a run and jumped clear over the guard rails, sending us plummeting towards the water. We splashed in and immediately came back up to the surface, at that point was when my short plan ended.

Once again, I took a look around to survey the situation, and as luck would have it, I saw a small and abandoned row boat not more than 200 meters away, beached up on one of the few rocks that were along the walled off edge of the sea. When we got to it, I pulled it down into the water and prayed it didn’t have any considerable holes in it’s body. 

After giving the small boat a quick look over, it appeared safe and ready to go. I helped the girl into the boat before getting in myself. I picked up the lone, old wooden paddle and began to row us away from our coastal paradise, that was now home to a zombie apocalypse.

Rowing away, I finally took a moment to look at the girl that I not-so-gracefully saved in the town market. I don’t know her name, heck, I don’t know a single thing about her. Except that, in that moment, in my dream; she was beautiful. Probably the most beautiful girl I could have ever seen. Unfortunately, that’s only the feeling I get. When I wake up from the dream, I can never remember the girls face, no matter how hard I try and how much I wish to. It just ends with us rowing away into our future, leaving me to wonder what happens in the end.

 

There it is. I’m not sure if dreams are hidden messages trying to tell me something, or if they are just a collection of our random thoughts, arranged in a way that makes sense to us. But this dream must have something to it since I’ve had it four or five times already. Maybe even more for the nights that I don’t remember my dreams. Usually I would blame it on watching a movie or reading a book along the same lines. Although thinking about it, it doesn’t make any sense. It’s been forever since I’ve watched any of the Jurassic Parks and months since the last time I saw “The Walking Dead”.

I just hope that next time I have this dream again, I’ll be able to see that one girls face as we row off into the sea.

Kinda makes me want to write a book too…

 

“All that we see or seem, is but a dream within a dream” Edgar Allan Poe

 

Tyson Trepidations.

2 responses to “Zombies, Dinosaurs, A Girl, and My Recurring Dream

Leave a Reply

