Theatre and Music. A Perfect Mix.

Last night while I was in town with my mother to see the last Harry Potter, I went to the book store to kill some time.

I love book stores, if I didn’t have a good head with money, I could probably spend my whole pay cheque there! But I just limited myself to buying one book. I purchased Dick Van Dyke’s memior with a sub title that read, “My Lucky Life In And Out Of Show Business”.

I’m a huge fan of Dick Van Dyke, he was a musical star and created several amazing movies as well as starred in one incredible show entitled after him. To me, he’s a real inspiration for everything I do in life.

I think he’s what got me so interested in musical theatre, and musicals just in general too. Those have to be my favorite genre and every chance I get, I’ll go see one or the other. I especially like the older stuff, movies like Singing in the Rain, Westside Story and Holiday Inn. You really don’t see musicals like they had in those days anymore, especially with the huge musical stars like Dick Van Dyke, Bing Crosby, Gene Kelly, and Fred Astaire just to name a few.

Living here though, you don’t really see all too many musical theatre performances put on. But there are some that are locally done, and when they are, I love to see them. They do a pretty awesome job and get everything down perfectly. But if your missing those in your local area, the best advice I can give is to give them a try! Live theatre in general is a wonderful experience that everyone should share at least once.

Now don’t get me wrong neither, there are some pretty good newer musicals as well that appear on my list of favorites. Such movies like, Across the Universe and Moulin Rouge. But with that said, you can’t really compare them to the old stuff because they’re worlds different from each other.

Even though I can be caught singing and dancing all the time, I don’t really ever dream about making it on Broadway or anything, its more a love of watching the professionals work their charm. But when I have my career on the go, visiting Broadway and seeing many performances is definitely on the list of things to do. Although, I am kinda interested in taking tap dance lessons thanks to the wonders of Gene Kelly and Fred Astaire.

Maybe I will.

“Every situation, properly perceived, becomes an opportunity” – Helen Schucman

Tyson Trepidations.

2 responses to “Theatre and Music. A Perfect Mix.

Leave a Reply

