Dick Van Dyke: Decades of Entertainment

A few years ago, I told Esquire magazine that the Buddhists boiled it down to the essentials. They said you need three things in life: Something to do, something to love, and something to hope for. The message does not get any clearer.  – Dick Van Dyke: My Lucky Life In and Out of Show Business (a memoir)

 

Friday night, just before seeing the final Harry Potter, I bought myself a hardcover copy of Dick Van Dyke’s memoir called, “My Lucky Life In and Out of Show Business”. I first noticed his memoir when I was on my roadtrip in May, but I thought I better not buy it since mostly everything was being put on my credit card already. So I waited until I knew I could afford such things. I didn’t get to start the book on that Friday though, I got home somewhere after one in the morning, therefore needed to get some shut eye. But after reading a bit each night, I just finished it no more than fifteen minutes ago.

Before I start talking about what I thought of Dick’s memoir, I thought I should mention the reason I wanted to buy it in the first place. Basically I know Dick Van Dyke has been an inspiration to a lot of people over the many decades he has spent entertaining. He influenced my parents and grandparents with his classic shows and movies, as well as myself being yet another generation ahead. But with that said, there are still a few other celebrities that withstand the test of time. What really draws me to Dick Van Dyke though is his honesty, humbleness and the values he has always portrayed in his life, as well as his films and shows. Not only that, but he has the best type of comedy in my opinion. The clean, true, beautiful kind that gets a real laugh and creates memories that burn into your life forever.

His memoir is basically what you expect though. You learn about his early life, childhood, teen years, young adulthood and his climb into the show business. He talks about all the shows, movies and mentions a number of the specials he’s appeared in throughout the years, putting an emphasis on those which were most important to him and his career. It also shows that for a man in his mid-eighties, he’s still got it in him, and he’s still a kid at heart and in his soul.

Ultimately from about his life, views and thoughts, it instilled my fondness and respect for him even more. I know that when I have children, I want to share his work with them as well, and let them learn from him as many generations already have.

For anyone who know’s of Dick Van Dyke, I would most definitely suggest reading the book. You really hear a lot of great stories from his life and of the interactions he has had with family, personal problems, other celebrated figures and life in general. But there is a lot of reference to a lot of his work, so if your not familiar with it you may need to brush up a little bit first.

Happy reading to anyone that decides to read it. But for me, its time to start 007: Carte Blanche that I just got tonight.

 

“Hope is life’s essential nutrient, and love is what gives life meaning” – Dick Van Dyke

 

Tyson Trepidations.

Leave a Reply

