The Spy With The Golden Thunderballs

I’m still slowly getting through Carte Blanche; the most recent of Bond book as written by Jeffrey Deaver. I’m only managing to read a couple chapters per day, but that’s alright, just makes the enjoyment last a little longer.

Actually, like a lot of people, I think James Bond is pretty wicked awesome! I love all of the Bond films and the character in general is so suave and brilliant, makes me want to get into the espionage business.

Back in the days of highschool though, I took French all the way until I graduated. I actually really enjoyed the class and wanted to learn as much French as I could since its Canada’s other official language. Of course, at my school we didn’t really have a real French teacher, so we didn’t get taught very well. That’s something that really stumped me when I got into grade twelve because my teacher really knew her French and made us speak it only. It was good, but quite the challenge considering the poor French education that I had received previously. It was mostly fun though because it was a video conferencing class, and the only students from my school there were just my best friend, Steve, and I. So we had a blast singing songs and just going crazy.

When we were in grade eleven, we had this skit assignment. We were to make a skit and perform it in French in front of everyone, as well as the english version too just for fun. Of course since Steve and I were partners, we wanted to do something different from everyone else. We were always like that and extremely creative. So as a change, we decided to turn it into a film rather than a skit. So we made our script during the class time, then when we got home, we filmed the whole thing. Everyone in the class really seemed to enjoy the films a lot too, so we were a hit. Actually, after that, it seemed like everyone in our entire had decided to go on YouTube and watched our video. Everyone seemed to know about it, even the kids we had never talked to before had started asking us about it. We didn’t mind though of course.

That film was a James Bond parody if you must, featuring my best friend as James Bond and myself as the evil scientist. We decided to make the title and amalgamation of James Bond titles and called it: “James Bond: The Spy With The Golden Thunderballs”.

After that year, we had quite an urge to make another movie. Except this time with more freedom for our creativity that the French class didn’t allow us to explore. So we went ahead and created a rough script, but mostly with improv. It was just basically an outline of our actions and a couple lines that we thought we needed to add. That one we decided to start as a new series, since the first was basically all tied up. Plus we wanted something a tad more exciting. So we ended up developing “I Saw Bond’s Bats: The Love That Was Puzzled”. In the short, it was a love story between James Bond and BatShell (A Batman type character, but a girl), being tormented by Jigsaw from the Saw films.

Soon after that one, we decided to make a third film as a sequel to the second. We made more action and had a larger cast of characters as well, but still following the original storyline. This sequel we called, “I Saw Bond’s Bats… Again: The Jigsaw Comes Together”. I’ll leave it at that.

At the end of that third film there’s a bit of cliffhanger that we had intended upon finishing, but never really got around to it. I actually hope that we do in order to conclude the series. Maybe I should look into that… We even have a final script too.

“We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give” – Winston Churchill

Tyson Trepidations.

Leave a Reply

