There’s No Words To Describe A Smile

Today I was working a dayshift over at the restaurant, it wasn’t too bad of a day neither. But during the first shift change, when one of my co-workers came in, I noticed that she must have been crying a lot today. Her eyes were all red, had that bit of sparkle to them that said they were crying and plus her attitude hinted towards the fact as well. Being me of course, I felt a little bad and wanted to cheer her up a bit. I don’t know why, but when someone around me has been having a bad day or anything of the sort, I’m not really the type of person who will just brush it off and ignore it. Even if its somebody I don’t know. So I started to do what I do best.

Of course I gave her a hug first, I didn’t ask what was wrong or anything, I’m not going to prolong whatever it is that’s making her feel down. Plus, if she felt she needed to tell someone, she know’s I’m an excellent listener. I’m an even better hugger though, everyone at camp told me that I give the best bear hugs ever, so that actually makes me a bit proud of the skill. Plus, I love hugs! I think they are the best when you or someone else is feeling a little less than normal, they are always the perfect pick uppers. When I hugged her though, I could tell that she appreciated it and that’s the feeling that makes me know today was a good day because I could help make somebody elses a little better. It’s who I am.

Of course though, for anyone that knows me, they know I wont stop until I accomplish getting a smile. So my mission wasn’t over yet in trying to pick up one of my workmates day.

After working with her a few times, I know what she appreciates, and that is someone who’s sincere and has that kind of humour as well. So I started to tell her a story about when I was eleven. It was about this one time (when I was eleven obviously), I really wanted to see that movie Jaws. I thought it looked really awesome but my parents didn’t want me watching it, so I never was allowed. But one night, it was on TV at 2 AM, so I snuck out of bed and into the living room just to watch Jaws. Probably not the best of my ideas neither, considering the entire time I was watching it, I didn’t move a muscle because I was so creeped out from the movie and too scared to even twitch. Even when the movie ended, I didn’t get up from the couch because I was too afraid to make it all the way to my room. So needless to say, I ended up spending the night on the couch, without even a wink of sleep. I never did tell my parents about that neither, I just pretended I was up before them the next morning to get ready for school. The worst part though, was the constant nightmares for almost a week because of that movie! I don’t remember what they were about, I just remember they caused some pretty rough nights.

Of course I threw some jokes in there though when I told my co-worker, and she seemed to appreciate it all, I think I even saw a bit of a curl of a smile in the corner of her lips. But unfortunately I wasn’t paying attention enough to read into that microexpression.

After I caught that hint of a bit of a smile though, I knew the one thing that would seal the deal, it always worked and never failed. It’s something that I learned from one of the safety officers we had when I went on a trip to Calgary as a non-commissioned officer in Cadets. Her name was Captain Anderson, and everytime we were unloading the bus, she felt the need to get a smile out of everyone before they climbed off at the destination. So while you approached her, she would say really loudly “SSSSMMMIIIIILLLLLEEE!” and really annoyingly I might add as well. She always did it in quite a high pitched voice and dragged the ‘I’ sound quite a lot as well. Sadly for her, it didn’t work as well as she anticipated. Although, to me, I knew it was all about the execution to get it to work and I perfected what she wasn’t able to do.

So if we rewind a bit…

Ljankdjf ajkdfnkadjkfa danjf bmadjkfnajds fahjdnfna *Moves really fast backwards* kaskdj adfn adnfjsd fakndfn ajd naf

As soon as I saw what I thought was a crack of a smile I looked my fellow worker in the eye, gave her a crooked smile of my own and said excruciatingly loudly, high pitched and with that emphasis on the ‘I’, “SMIIIIIILLEEE!” and just for a good measure, I added a really quick but sharp “SMILE!” afterwards. It worked just how it was supposed to and I knew I successfully completed my mission when I saw that huge grin spread across her face.

So there’s a bit of a glimpse in what I try to accomplish everyday when I can. I love making people smile and when I do, I know that day wasn’t a waste at all because I could do so. In a way, its what I live for and I think I do a pretty good job too if I don’t say so myself.

Where people may propose that a picture can say a thousand words, I propose that a smile can make a thousand words seem like nothing, just the feeling of getting one smile out of somebody who needs it is beyond any of the best words to describe it. So keep that in mind next time you see someone who’s having a bad day, even if you don’t know them.

 

“Let us always meet each other with smile, for the smile is the beginning of love” – Mother Teresa

 

Tyson Trepidations.

3 responses to “There’s No Words To Describe A Smile

  1. very very heart warming. i’m glad to have read your post and i’m glad that somebody out there is also trying to make a positive difference in this world! thanks for the post and thanks for doing what you do!

Leave a Reply

