A Tough Day On The Job

6 AM.

That’s when I worked this morning. It’s usually my favorite shift too since it goes by so fast all the time and I get off at 2 PM, so a big chunk of the day is still ahead of me. But today it was just horrible! One of those days where anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.

First, when I went to work I was a little bit groggy, usually after my breakfast I’m wide awake and singing away “GOOD MORNING! GOOD MORNING!”  to everybody that’s around. But now that I think of it, I didn’t even sing a single song at work today, which never happens! It wasn’t from my groggyness though, it was mostly from everything else.

We have really bad staff at the restaurant. I mean they are very nice, pretty funny and easy to get along with; but they are horrendously unreliable. So I got a phone call just as I was opening the restaurant from my 8 AM prep person, and she’s calling in sick. I knew she wasn’t sick, just hung over since she threw a party at her house last night. But I still had to take her word and not let her come to work since we can’t have any sick people touching the food at the restaurant. At first though, I was alright with her being “sick”, but then after calling the other people that had the day off to come, I began to get a little perturbed. Nobody answered their phones or already had big plans today and couldn’t come in to work. Not even the restaurant owner would answer the phone. So finally I just decided to call my afternoon person to come in early and work, even though he didn’t know how to cook breakfast at all.

When he got there, I put him to work doing the prep, like sterilizing fresh veggies and preparing some sauces for later while I would do all the cooking, which is usually a three person job on the weekends.

As the afternoon approached, it was getting quite busy there and I had to cook at a lightning pace to keep up with all the orders, plus teach my prep person how to prep everything too.

I didn’t even really get a break, just took a couple minutes to shovel some soup down my throat basically.

Then when the afternoon arrived and it was full out busy, the Stock Man came with all of our fresh food. So I had to go back and forth between the kitchen to cook, then back to the freezer to put some stock away. Putting stock away isn’t an easy task neither. Getting twenty boxes of fries that weigh fifty pounds each and several boxes of chicken meat that weigh at least seventy pounds each isn’t exactly an easy task; plus all the hamburger meat and everything else on top too. Don’t get me started on the massive boxes of lettuce and tomatoes neither…

This Guy Isn't Having a Very Good Day Neither

When I finished all that up, I noticed that my prep person was moving excruciatingly slow and barely got anything done. So I had to whip together a lot of what I needed to cook.

But then I ran out of Mustard.

It doesn’t take long to get some mustard, it hangs on the wall in a huge sack with eight Litres of mustard inside. So I grabbed myself a container and pressed the little lever thing for some mustard and the lever just popped off. Completely broke free into my hand. So now there was eight Litres of mustard on the floor, my pants, apron and shoes. It even full out stained the wall yellow and I’m not even sure how long that took to clean up…

Finally though, at 1:30 PM, it started to slow down. So I sent my prep boy on a thirty minute break and spent that entire half hour getting absolutely every bit of prep done, washing all the dishes that ended up piling up and cleaning the place up for the next shift that was to come in after me.

Lastly, I had to stay an extra half hour past my shift too because the girl that was coming in after me ended up being late.

There were a couple of other incidences, but I think that’s enough of a rant for one day. Thanks for listening.

 

In better news though, I booked a Whitewater rafting expedition for Tuesday on the highest class of whitewater you can get. Meaning its going to be a very wild ride and quite dangerous. I can’t wait!

 

“Some days are for living. Others are for getting through.” – Malcolm S. Forbes

 

Tyson Trepidations.

5 responses to “A Tough Day On The Job

Leave a Reply

